Image not loaded. Advertisement:
Image not loaded. Advertisement:

Awards wrap-up

In the US, a number of self-published authors were winners at the Romance Writers of America’s (RWA) annual RITA Awards, which recognise excellence in romance novels and novellas. Among the 13 category winners were Elizabeth Dyer’s Fearless for best romantic suspense, Kennedy Ryan’s Long Shot for best contemporary romance (long), Susannah Nix’s Advanced Physical Chemistry for best contemporary romance (mid-length), M Malone’s Bad Blood for best romance novella and Mia Vincy’s A Wicked Kind of Husband for best historical romance. For the full list of winners, visit the RWA website.

Locally, there’s several self-published authors among the finalists for the Romance Writers of Australia (RWA) Romantic Book of the Year Awards. The King’s Obsession (Tanya Bird) is shortlisted for best historical romance; Happy Ever After (Joanne Tracey) is shortlisted in the romantic elements category; and Edge of Eon (Anna Hackett) is shortlisted for best speculative romance, while a self-published trifecta are up for the romantic suspense category: Glass Clouds (Suzanne Cass), Mission: Her Protection (Anna Hackett) and Undercover Fighter (Aislinn Kearns). The RWA winners will be named on 10 August. For more information, see the website.

Meanwhile, L M Ardor’s self-published The Practice Baby is longlisted for best first fiction in the Ned Kelly Awards, the Australian Crime Writers Association’s (ACWA) annual awards. For more information about the longlist, visit the ACWA website.


Category: Local news